top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePeyton Nugent

Finance is cool: A Passion Project

Money doesn't have to be so hard to talk about!



It's pretty cool that we learned how to solve equations and how to find the odds of picking a red skittle out of a bag, but what about practical information? Like saving money, applying for credit cards and handling loan debt? When I say save I don't mean saving enough money to meet up with friends at your local Applebees for half price appetizers but enough money for college books, rent, vacations and even tuition. Conversations about money can be seen as taboo because attitudes of the past tell us money is a private matter and not to be shared. I want to change that.


I want to open up discussion about saving money - how we can set goals, accomplish them and keep ourselves accountable, what to look for when applying to credit cards or what does it mean when someone asks if your employer "matches your contribution". I want to give readers easy to understand resources about what is happening on the stock market and in the business/finance industry - and how that effects my readers. Somewhere in the above jumble of ideas is a well thought out newsletter that will become my passion project.


Below are some accounts and websites I keep up with for all my financial questions (besides my mom):


Learn about compound interest and Roth IRA's by comparing celebrities to financial terminology


The only site where I will actually read the comments under every post. It's crazy how much you can learn by reading about other people's spending habits, the price of living where they work and what they chose to do with the money they earn whether that be investing, retirement savings etc. And then you get to read the judgmental drama that unfolds in the comments - and sometimes advice as well.


If you're ready and tackle stocks and investing this free resources is perfect for beginners. There are how-to tutorials about ETF's, S&P 500 Index Funds and more for anyone ready to take their money to the next level.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page